News & Events

Pingry News & Events

More News

New Members of The Cum Laude Society

Pingry announces its 28 newest members of The Cum Laude Society. Established in 1906 as the secondary school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa, the country’s oldest collegiate honor society, The Cum Laude Society honors academic excellence and superior scholarship among its 382 chapters. Membership in this prestigious academic organization is limited to 20 percent of the Senior Class.

New Inductees, Class of 2022
Evan Berger
Martine Bigos
Elspeth Campbell
Alexandra de Asla
Natalie DeVito
Shannen Gallagher
Christopher Gu
Christine Guo
Samuel Henriques
Emmet Houghton
James Houghton
Sarah Kloss
Michelle Lee
Jack Martin
Kristin Osika
Luca Pizzale
Belinda Poh
Alexandra Sartorius
Caitlin Schwarz
Maureen Schwarz
Emily Shen
Olivia Telemaque
Bella Vieser
Kimberly Wang
Elodie Wardle
Samuel Wexler
Allison Williams
Allen Wu
Katherine Xie

To be considered for election, Pingry students must meet the following criteria: maintain at least an A- grade point average, achieve Honor Roll status during their Upper School years, carry a full college preparatory course load, and receive at least 50 percent of the votes from electing members of the Pingry chapter of The Cum Laude Society. However, fulfillment of these requirements does not guarantee membership because the Society emphasizes more than academic grades.

It recognizes individuals who—in all areas of their lives—love to learn, share their knowledge with others, and demonstrate scholarship, honor, integrity, and good character. The Society also hopes that all of its members will continue their cooperative and selfless pursuit of knowledge while serving as lifelong examples of The Cum Laude Society motto: Aréte (Excellence), Diké (Justice), Timé (Honor).

Pictured: Head of School Matt Levinson, inductees from the Class of 2022, and Upper School Science Teacher and Cum Laude Society Secretary Jeffrey Jenkins.

Contact: Greg Waxberg ’96, Communications Writer, Editor of The Pingry Review