News & Events

Pingry News & Events

More News

New Members of Cum Laude Society

Pingry announces its 28 newest members of The Cum Laude Society. Established in 1906 as the secondary school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa, the country's oldest collegiate honor society, The Cum Laude Society honors academic excellence and superior scholarship among its 382 member schools. Membership in this prestigious academic organization is limited to 20 percent of the Senior Class.

New Inductees, Class of 2020
(pictured left to right, top row to bottom row)

Dilan Bhat
Noopur Bhatt
Samantha Burak
Aimee Composto
Hannah Dillon
Victoria Gu
Hannah Guglin
Benjamin Hargrove
Anjali Kapoor
Caroline Knorn
Ashna Kumar
Alison Lee
Kaya Lee
Brian Li
Sofia Lombardo
Ashley Lu
Ashana Makhija
Tyler McLaughlin
James "Burke" Pagano
Jennifer Ryan
Alyssa Schwertfeger
Sonia Talarek
Lauren Taylor
James Wang
Jamie Wang
Collin Wen
Samuel Williams
Qida "Steven" Wu

To be considered for election, Pingry students must meet the following criteria: maintain at least an A- grade point average, achieve Honor Roll status during their Upper School years, carry a full college preparatory course load, and receive at least 50 percent of the votes from electing members of the Pingry chapter of The Cum Laude Society. However, fulfillment of these requirements does not guarantee membership because the Society emphasizes more than academic grades.

It recognizes individuals who—in all areas of their lives—love to learn, share their knowledge with others, and demonstrate scholarship, honor, integrity, and good character. The Society also hopes that all of its members will continue their cooperative and selfless pursuit of knowledge while serving as lifelong examples of The Cum Laude Society motto: Aréte (Excellence), Diké (Justice), Timé (Honor).

Contact: Greg Waxberg '96, Communications Writer, Editor of The Pingry Review