News & Events

Pingry News & Events

More News

Cum Laude Society: Fall Induction Ceremony

Pingry welcomed its nine newest members of The Cum Laude Society during the Upper School Fall Awards Assembly on September 22. Established in 1906 as the secondary school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa, the country's oldest collegiate honor society, The Cum Laude Society honors academic excellence and superior scholarship among its 382 member schools. Membership in this prestigious academic organization is limited to 20 percent of the Senior Class.

New Inductees, Class of 2018

Naiyah Atulomah
Alyssa Chen
Rachel Chen
Jennifer Coyne
Josephine Cummings
Clyde Leef
Megan Pan
Jackson Proudfoot
Alexandra Pyne

These students were selected for The Cum Laude Society at the end of their junior year. A second ceremony will be held in the spring for members of the Senior Class who are elected during the 2017-18 school year.

Whether elected as juniors or seniors, Pingry students must meet each of the following criteria to be considered for election: maintain at least an A- grade point average, achieve Honor Roll status during their Upper School years, carry a full college preparatory course load, and receive at least 50 percent of the votes from electing members of the Pingry chapter of The Cum Laude Society. However, fulfillment of these requirements does not guarantee membership.

As President of the Pingry chapter of The Cum Laude Society, Director of Studies Lydia Geacintov P '84, '88 noted that the Society emphasizes more than academic grades. Instead, it recognizes individuals who—in all areas of their lives—love to learn, share their knowledge with others, and demonstrate scholarship, honor, integrity, and good character. The Society also hopes that all of its members will continue their cooperative and selfless pursuit of knowledge while serving as lifelong examples of The Cum Laude Society motto: Aréte (Excellence), Diké (Justice), Timé (Honor).

Congratulations to our new Cum Laude Society members from the Class of 2018—and all of the award recipients from the assembly!

Pictured: Jackson Proudfoot, Alexandra Pyne, Clyde Leef, Josephine Cummings, Rachel Chen, Alyssa Chen, Megan Pan, and Jennifer Coyne. Not pictured: Naiyah Atulomah.

Greg Waxberg '96, Communications Writer,